Start the Path to Inner Peace

Maybe you’re taking an extra course in school, a second job, or starting a new family. Regardless, you’re juggling all these different aspects of your life and sometimes balancing them all at once is a bit overwhelming. But there is a cost if you’ve put your mental or physical health on the back burner. The Mayo Clinic lists out a number of health issues that result from experiencing long term stress that ranges from digestive problems, weight issues, cognitive impairment, and depression to name a few.

But why be victims to stress?  Let’s build up a resilience.  This world is stressful and there are days you need a few little things to help you get through.

For instance, I love the holiday season and will bust out the Charlie Brown Christmas CD to keep from losing focus when I’m faced with an overly stressful challenge at work.  As Laura Landro mentions in her Wall Street Journal article Why Resilience Is Good for Your Health and Career, “Resilience is often defined as the capacity to adjust to change, disruption or difficulty and move on from negative or traumatic experiences in a positive way.” By not adjusting for these challenges, we’re not doing ourselves any good.

There are various techniques out there for coping.  This ranges from adult coloring books to mental exercises. In future blog posts, I’ll experiment with various options and provide my personal feedback. This will be a new path for me as I don’t have any expertise in this area. I encourage you to try some of the techniques yourself and provide your own view along the way. Let’s take this journey together.

About Leah Taboada

Hello and welcome to my blog that is a personal journey through self managing stress and finding relaxation. Between my first tax season as a tax accountant and finishing my Masters in Accountancy, I'll be exploring techniques and sharing my experiences. I encourage you to try them as well and comment on how they've word for you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

