Adult Coloring Time

Walking through the isles I didn’t know what to expect or even what the options were going to be.  Themes included inspirational sayings, biblical versus, and various intricate outlines of pictures. It wasn’t until I noticed ALL of the Crayola colored pencils were sold out, that I realized the gravity of how popular this had become.  Only one cheap off brand 12 pencil package was left. Accompanying me on my first adult coloring book experience was a good friend who colors for relaxation. Apparently the store was completely out for a week before she finally got a set of colored pencils to start her first book.

 

 

What inspired me to check out this method of relaxation was I had not one, but two, friends Snapchat me photos of their colored pages with sayings like, “these things are awesome” and “so frustrating, but so fun.” I had to check it out. To get started, I built up my nest on the couch with my colored pencils and book. I felt like a little kid snuggled into the heating blanket with my favorite TV comedy, The Big Bang Theory, on  instead of cartoons. Once ready to go, I realized I made a rookie mistake.  No pencil sharpener.  Laughing at myself, I also wondered if it was going to be stressful if I colored outside the lines since I had forgotten an eraser as well.

My page of choice had a peacock feather across most it and was accompanied by the following: breathe in joy, breathe out peace. I found myself focusing on the words while coloring the page, only listening to the show in the background. Before I knew it, an hour passed.  It was nice to take a break and focus on something so simple, to clear my mind except for the inspirational quote.

If you are looking to give these things a try, the books can be found anywhere that offers other entertainment books used to pass the time.  Burlington Coat Factory, Walmart, and Hobby Lobby are a few examples.  More variety is offered online as well.  Free pages in the themes of your choice are easy to find.  Type in “adult coloring” into google images and tons of options pop up allowing you to scroll through a variety of potential coloring pages.  Print out the ones you want and start coloring.  Start your first page today by checking out some great options from comic characters to the middle ages here.

 

 

About Leah Taboada

Hello and welcome to my blog that is a personal journey through self managing stress and finding relaxation. Between my first tax season as a tax accountant and finishing my Masters in Accountancy, I'll be exploring techniques and sharing my experiences. I encourage you to try them as well and comment on how they've word for you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

