Finding Comfort in Meaningful Projects

In the awkward space between my living room and kitchen is a bright red cabinet.  It has lots of character with the brush strokes visible and various hues of red throughout the whole thing.  It’s accented well by flat black hardware and pops along the grey/green wall.  However, this has not always been the case. This tiny thigh-high cabinet used to be pea soup green and sat in the laundry room of my grandmothers home. After her passing, the cabinet found its way into my care. By restoring the cabinet with the same bright character of my grandmother, I am able to find comfort each time I look at it.

There are a few different ideas on finding something meaningful to work on that’ll bring you bliss.  You just need to find one that works for you.  Like I had done with the little red cabinet, you could find something with sentimental value,  whether that be restoring an old family quilt, saving old black and white photos to disk, or putting a protective seal on an antique ring.  We can restore those items not just to preserve them physically, but to protect their meaning and bring back those memories and feelings for a long time to come.

Another example would be to create something for someone else.  By providing a homemade gift, you create a stronger bond with that person.  You’ve shown that you’ve put thought and creativity into something custom for them, plus we all find joy in watching someone else enjoy the moment we’ve created for them. For example, I paddleboard as I’ve mentioned in my post Give in to the Paddle, and one amazing gift I had received was a custom wood paddle with a turtle emblem and although I have multiple paddles, that is the one I bring with me every time I’m on the lake. Another example would be a gift I had made for Fathers Day one year. I had spent weeks creating a scrapbook from old family fishing photos.  My dad loved it so much that it’s forever sitting out in his living room. By putting such effort into personalized gifts, we provide more meaning, made obvious by the recipient’s reaction. Besides, you’ll find this happiness is contagious.

Lastly, work on a project with someone you love. Instead of starting with something that already has sentimental value or just working alone, like mentioned above, start with something fresh.  This could be working on a yard sale find with your sister or slowly resorting an old car with your son. Either way, you can create a project that lasts. Have a great project idea?  Please share it below!

 

 

 

 

About Leah Taboada

Hello and welcome to my blog that is a personal journey through self managing stress and finding relaxation. Between my first tax season as a tax accountant and finishing my Masters in Accountancy, I'll be exploring techniques and sharing my experiences. I encourage you to try them as well and comment on how they've word for you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

