Give to Others

It’s been a full day of work at the day job and my brain is already mush since it’s the beginning of April and tax season is still in full force.  Walking into the community center there are families lining the walls.  Each patiently waiting their turn. Children bounce back and forth from seat to seat almost like it’s a new form of musical chairs.  Although it could have been the end of my day, I chose to be here and am happy to do it.

Like many, I find satisfaction in helping those who need it.  In this case, why not use skills I already have to help families file their taxes?  By volunteering my time, I get the satisfaction of making a difference; that I’ve improved someone’s situation and that’s fulfilling. But don’t take my word for it, in the Forbes article 5 Surprising Benefits of Volunteering, studies have shown that volunteering leads to better health, including “lower mortality rates, greater functional ability, and lower rates of depression later in life than those who do not volunteer.” So why not give back and get some good health in return?

But of course volunteering can be a commitment.  Before hopping into a cause, figure out what you have to give; especially time. Like the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program, I know they only need help between January and April 15th.  Other organizations like The Mentor Center of Western Nevada are looking for a commitment of at least a year which includes weekly involvement. Think about what skills you have that could help someone else in need and when you can give them.

 

 

About Leah Taboada

Hello and welcome to my blog that is a personal journey through self managing stress and finding relaxation. Between my first tax season as a tax accountant and finishing my Masters in Accountancy, I'll be exploring techniques and sharing my experiences. I encourage you to try them as well and comment on how they've word for you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

