Knock Out that Stress

I’m not exactly in good shape right now, am I going to be able to do this? What if the people are jerks?  What if the place is packed? Is there a catch to joining?  These were some of the questions I had roaming in my mind when I decided to try out a new gym. That all melted away pretty quick once I got in the front door.  I walked in feeling stressed and came out feeling mentally pumped.

This is not a typical gym but a kickboxing gym.  At ILoveKickboxing, it’s a full hour of intensity. The first 15 minutes covers running, high knees, pushups, burpees, squats, and much more.  Once the cardio section is over, it’s time to stretch, then the fun part. The majority of the class is focused on jabs, punches, and various kicks. Don’t panic, there is a community around you to show you the form. And that’s just it, it really is a community. As soon as you walk in, everyone is smiling.  They are ready to go, ready to have fun, and are happy to jump in to show you how to do a move if you are a little lost at times like I was.

 

 

A word of advice if you are looking at giving this a try, be prepared before you go.  Don’t jump in cold turkey like I did.  Within the first 15 minutes I found myself getting a bit nauseous and dizzy. I hadn’t worked out in some time so my cardio ability was very low. Maybe work on a little cardio at home before your first class.  Drink plenty of water and be hydrated.  Like any workout, don’t be full when you arrive. But that’s all a small stuff to take care of compared to the experience you’ll get in return.

Overall, it’s an amazing experience.  You get to workout in a fast paced environment where you’re pushing yourself to get the most out of that hour.  You’re surrounded by rocking music and fun people. The best part is you get to transfer all that energy and stress that’s been brewing all day to the bag.  Just close your eyes and punch or kick away. What to know more about kickboxing itself?  Check out some items to know before you go here.

About Leah Taboada

Hello and welcome to my blog that is a personal journey through self managing stress and finding relaxation. Between my first tax season as a tax accountant and finishing my Masters in Accountancy, I'll be exploring techniques and sharing my experiences. I encourage you to try them as well and comment on how they've word for you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

