Change Your Environment

When I’m working hard and feeling a bit stressed, I find myself rotating my position often.  This means finding a nook in the library, to a countertop in a coffee bar, or the desk in my home office.  Changing my environment often makes a big difference in my productivity and mood. It’s refreshing to make the move to accommodate my needs for the assignment at hand.  For instance, if I need a super quiet space so I can hear only my own thoughts, the library is great, plus it’s easier to get a window seat to soak in a little sunshine.  But if I’m writing a new blog, sipping coffee and relaxing in a local hot spot is preferred. Out of all the choices though, make time to get outside.

 

Whether it’s riding a bike, walking the dog, or taking a hike, just getting outside can greatly improve our health. The Business Insider points out that even just being exposed to nature photos can provide a mental boost.  Even stress reduction has been linked to outdoor recreation by over 100 studies according to the CRC Health Group. But what about the days where we  have to stay inside?  Bring the outdoors in.

Bringing the outdoors in can have similar benefits.  For instance, I have a small bush with a small pineapple emerging from the top that reminds me of a family vacation to Hawaii that brightens up my living room. Bringing in natural smells is also a relaxing solution.  For instance, a Scentsy can bring me the smells of a warm cackling campfire or an ocean breeze.  Here are some ideas to help you bring the outdoors to your space.

About Leah Taboada

Hello and welcome to my blog that is a personal journey through self managing stress and finding relaxation. Between my first tax season as a tax accountant and finishing my Masters in Accountancy, I'll be exploring techniques and sharing my experiences. I encourage you to try them as well and comment on how they've word for you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

